FMC is launching Capture LFR Insecticide together with VGR Soil Amendment for in-furrow application in corn. This new co-pack delivers full spectrum insect control, increased water efficiency and better nutrient availability throughout the season resulting in stronger, more uniform stands to increase yields. 

The Capture LFR Insecticide component controls seed and seedling pests, including: wireworms, cutworms, grubs, armyworms, seed corn maggots and common stalk borers. It also controls corn rootworms at the full use rate. Use rates range from 3.4-17 ounces per acre, depending on the target pest and row spacing. The highest rates allow for the rootworm rate on narrow (15-inch) corn.

Working With Nature to Improve Nutrient and Water Uptake

The VGR Soil Amendment component contains Bacillus licheniformis, a naturally occurring bacterium that enhances plant efficiency. The Bacillus in VGR Soil Amendment help solubilize phosphorus and create larger root systems for better uptake of water and nutrients. Under drought-stressed environments, at-plant application of VGR to corn significantly increased root and shoot biomass compared to untreated corn and compared to Capture LFR Insecticide alone. 

“The bacteria in VGR Soil Amendment colonize actively growing roots throughout the season and help promote uniform, vigorous plant stands,” says Rick Ekins, fungicide and insecticide portfolio manager for FMC. “Capture LFR Insecticide plus VGR Soil Amendment is ideal for fields with the potential for high soil phosphorous retention or drought stress.”

Capture LFR Insecticide plus VGR Soil Amendment out-yielded untreated corn by an average of 9.1 bushels per acre in on-farm trials over 2 years. More than 75% of the time it out-yielded Capture LFR alone.  

The product is available for the 2016 crop year in a co-pack of Capture LFR Insecticide with a compatible wettable powder VGR Soil Amendment formulation designed specifically to mix in pop-up liquid fertilizers. 

lfr & vgr

VGR Soil Amendment is currently registered or otherwise approved for use in 28 states including: Alabama, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington and Wyoming, with more expected. Click here for the current list of registered states.