Now is your chance to recognize a member of the no-till community for their outstanding efforts practicing and promoting sustainable farming through the No-Till Innovators program sponsored by Syngenta and No-Till Farmer. Winners will be honored for their achievements at the 22nd annual National No-Tillage Conference in Springfield, Ill., on January 17, 2014.


The program honors farmers, researchers, organizations and others who have identified ways to no-till more effectively, more economically and with better impact on the environment. Individuals or organizations can be nominated in each of the following categories:

  • Business and Service
  • Crop Production
  • Organization
  • Research and Education

Nominations can be made online. You can also download a nomination form and complete it offline. Once completed, nomination forms can be faxed to Taylor Wiggins at (312) 422-0660 or mailed to No-Till Innovator Awards, c/o Gibbs & Soell, Inc., 125 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 2600, Chicago, IL 60606.

The deadline for nominations for the 18th class of No-Till Innovators is Thursday, August 1. You can scroll down below to see a list of past winners of the No-Till Innovators awards.

Any person who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of no-till farming in the U.S. or Canada is eligible to win, regardless ofthe crop grown, brand of equipment used or crop protection or seed products chosen.

Winners will receive complimentary registration ($349 value), lodging and meals for the duration of the 2014 National No-Tillage Conference, as well as a special token of appreciation to commemorate the honor.

For more information about the No-Till Innovator Awards, please follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

No-Till Innovator Award Winners

Crop Production
1997 — John McLarty, London, Ontario

1998 — Ron Jaques, Hutchinson, Kan.
1999 — Steve Groff, Holtwood, Pa.
2000 — Doug Harford, Mazon, Ill.
2001 — Mike Ellis, Worth & Dee Ellis Farm, Eminence, Ky.
2002 — Russ Zenner, Genesee, Idaho
2003 — Mike, Ted, Paul, Tom and Nick Guetterman, Bucyrus, Kan.
2004 — Tom, Jeff and Doug Martin, Mt. Pulaski, Ill.
2005 — Randy Schwartz, Great Bend, Kan.
2006 — John Aeschliman, Colfax, Wash.
2007 — Joe Breker, Havana, N.D.
2008 — Bill Richards, Circleville, Ohio
2009 — Allen Berry, Nauvoo, Ill.
2010 — Rulon Enterprises (Rodney, Ken and Roy Rulon), Arcadia, Ind.
2011 — Ray McCormick, Vincennes, Ind.
2012 — Terry Taylor, Geff, Ill.
2013 — Dan DeSutter, Attica, Ind.

Research & Education
1997 — John Bradley, University of Tennessee, Milan, Tenn.

1998 — George Kapusta, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Ill.
1999 — Paul Jasa, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Neb.
2000 — Dwayne Beck, Dakota Lakes Research Farm, Pierre, S.D.
2001 — John Walker, Ricks College, Rexburg, Idaho
2002 — Wayne Reeves, National Soils Lab, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Auburn, Ala.
2003 — Glover Triplett, Mississippi State University, Starkville, Miss.
2004 — Norman Widman, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Columbus, Ohio
2005 — Dan Towery, Conservation Technology Information Center, West Lafayette, Ind.
2006 — Jim Cook, Washington State University, Pullman, Wash.
2007 — Jim Leverich, University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension Service,
Sparta, Wis.
2008 — Bud Davis, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Salina, Kan.
2009 — Randy Raper, National Soil Dynamics Lab, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Auburn, Ala.
2010 — Barry Fisher, Indiana NRCS state agronomist, Indianapolis, Ind.
2011 — Harold Reetz, Reetz Agronomic Services, Monticello, Ill.
2012 — Randall Reeder, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.
2013 — Randy Pryor, University of Nebraska Extension

Business and Service
1997 — David Swaim, Crawfordsville, Ind.

1998 — Philip Anderson, Southern States Cooperative, Owensboro, Ky.
1999 — Joe Nester, Nester Ag Management, Antwerp, Ohio
2000 — Ed Winkle, Hymark Consulting, Blanchester, Ohio
2001 — David Savage, Farley, Iowa
2002 — Kevin Morrow, Smiths Grove, Ky.
2003 — Brad Mathson, Whitehall Agricultural Services, Whitehall, Wis.
2004 — Dave Moeller, Moeller Ag Service, Keokuk, Iowa
2005 — Guy Swanson, Exactrix Inc., Spokane, Wash.
2006 — Paul Schaffert, Indianola, Neb.
2007 — Karl Kroeck, Knoxville, Pa.
2008 — Don Hoover, Binkley & Hurst, Lititz, Pa.
2009 — Rich Follmer, Progressive Farm Products, Hudson, Ill.
2010 — Dave Nelson, Brokaw Supply Co., Fort Dodge, Iowa
2011 — Roy Applequist, Great Plains Mfg., Salina, Kan.
2012 — Jamie Scott, J.A. Scott Farms Inc., Pierceton, Ind.
2013 — Daryl Starr, Advanced Ag Solutions

No-Till Organizations
1998 — Manitoba-North Dakota Zero Tillage Farmer’s Association, Brandon, Manitoba

1999 — Clark County Farm Bureau, Clark County, Ind.
2000 — Conservation Action Project, Defiance, Ohio
2001 — Ohio No-Till Council, Columbus, Ohio
2002 — Coffee County Conservation Tillage Alliance, Coffee County, Ga.
2003 — West Tennessee No-Till Farmers Association, Milan, Tenn.
2004 — Pacific Northwest Direct Seed Association, Pullman, Wash.
2005 — Lower Elkhorn Natural Resource District, Norfolk, Neb.
2006 — Innovative Farmers Association of Port Stanley, Ontario
2007 — Innovative Cropping Systems Team, Quinton, Va.
2008 — Clearwater Direct Seeders, Idaho
2009 — Embarras River Management Association, Toledo, Ill.
2010 — No-Till On The Plains, Salina, Kan.
2011 — Delta Conservation Demonstration Center, Metcalfe, Miss.
2012 — Pennsylvania No-Till Alliance
2013 — Midwest Cover Crops Council

Equipment Design
1997 — Howard Martin, Elkton, Ky.

1998 — Ray Rawson, Farwell, Mich.
1999 — Eugene Keeton, Clarksville, Tenn.
2000 — Jon Kinzenbaw, Kinze Manufacturing Co., Williamsburg, Iowa
2001 — Terry Schneider, Shirley, Ill.
2002 — The Reed Family (Paul Reed), Washington, Iowa
2003 — Herb Stam, Hi-Pro Manufacturing Co., Watseka, Ill.

Ag Supplier
1998 — Jim and Tom Boyd, B & B Farm Service, Fredericktown, Ohio
1999 — Eric Laux, Laux Farm Service, New Madison, Ohio
2000 — Crop Production Services, Morganfield, Ky.
2001 — Miles Farm Supply and Opti-Crop, Owensboro, Ky.
2002 — Roger Strand, Strand of Milan, Inc., Milan, Minn.
2003 — Loudonville Farmers Equity, Loudonville, Ohio

Environmental Stewardship
1997 — Jim LeCureux, Bad Axe, Mich.

Public Image of Agriculture
1997 — Marion Calmer, Alpha, Ill.

1997 — Mike Plumer, Marion, Ill.