In December, National Sorghum Producers announced the winners of the 2022 Sorghum Yield Contest, including Bin Buster winner Winsome Farms, Brant and Amy Peterson from Stanton County, Kan., with the top yield in the contest at 245.8 bushels per acre.

Top yields are highlighted in three different categories ranging from the eastern to western U.S. regions, plus an overall food grade winner. The dryland eastern and western no-till winners are:

Dryland No-Till Western

  • 1st: Duever Farms of Marshall County, Kan., with 180.19 bushels. Planted Pioneer 84G62. 
  • 2nd: Robison Brothers and Joe Schnuerle of Harlan County, Neb., with 167.40 bushels. Planted Pioneer 85Y.
  • 3rd: Mark Bloss of Pawnee County, Neb., with 159.23 bushels. Planted Pioneer 84P72. 

Dryland No-Till Eastern

  • 1st: Billy H. Bowers Farm Trust of Davidson County, N.C., with 218.20 bushels. Planted Pioneer 84G62.
  • 2nd: Harry Johnston of Fulton County, Penn., with 196.12 bushels. Planted Pioneer 84G62.
  • 3rd: Steven Halter of Daviess County, Indi., with 194.39 bushels. Planted Pioneer 84G62.

The national winners will be recognized further in March 2023 during Commodity Classic in Orlando. To see a complete list of the NSP Sorghum Yield Contest national, state and county results, or to learn more about the contest, visit

Click here for more Industry News.